Log in

All-Spring: Area athletes rack up honors


One of the most unpredictable years of prep athletics has come to a close.

After fall and winter brought about some absences and quarantines altered fates, spring got about with the only hitches coming from mother nature.

Here’s a look at area athletes who shined through awards from the spring season. Note that some honors like All-State baseball selections (to be announced June 12) have yet to be made.


Logan-Rogersville and Marshfield each placed three players on the first-team All-Big 8 East squad.

Marshfield senior Jackson Vestal was picked as a pitcher and finished with a 3.33 ERA over 42 innings pitched (12 appearances) while leading the team with 83 strikeouts. At the plate, Vestal batted .269 with a team-best four home runs.

Fellow teammates and senior Hayden Curley was also included for his team-best .393 batting average. He also led the team in doubles (nine) and RBIs (24). Joining them on the first team from the Jays was sophomore Wyatt Brockman, picked as a Designated Hitter. The sophomore trailed just Curley in average (.365) and led the Blue Jays in on-base percentage (.551).

From Rogersville, senior outfielder Drew Cornelison was selected as one of six unanimous picks, and was picked alongside junior Utility Player Blythe Blakey and sophomore catcher Noah Carrow.

Ethan Grace was one of two second-team selections from the Jays and was picked as both an outfielder and a pitcher. He batted .341 and scored a team-high 28 times, while on the rubber he led the team with a 2.63 ERA in 45 1/3 IP and struck out 68 batters. Infielder Jackson Rovig, a sophomore, was also tabbed. He ended the season ranked third on the team in average (.347) and had five doubles and 13 RBIs.

Additionally, three L-R players were named to the second team in Tanner Petersen and Hunter Lewis, both juniors, and sophomore Curry Sutherland.

Blakey and freshman Ross Lawrence were named as Honorable Mentions from the Wildcats, picked with a Marshfield trio of senior catcher Logan Crum, Vestal (as an infielder) and junior Owen Curley.

Springfield Catholic senior Jeremy Rader took home Player of the Year Honors and Hollister's Trent Oxenreider got Coach of the Year plaudits.

From the Mid-Lakes Conference, junior pitcher Evan Helton, junior infielder Mason Denning and senior outfielder Hunter Allen were first-team picks. Second-team selections from the Indians included Allen (as a pitcher), junior catcher Lane Boswell and sophomore infielder Dekota Ames. Junior outfielder JD Hunt was an Honorable Mention.

Conway had three first-team All-Summit players in Chase Caffey, Tanner Simpson and Jake Vestal, and were joined by Seymour's Brock Pearce and Fordland's Skylar Jacobson.

Kason and Kory McBride were picked from Conway on the second team, as was Nathaniel Hosiner of Seymour and Fordland's Jack Coursey.

Cameron Crowe (Fordland), Ryan Dame (Conway) and Payton Bryant (Seymour) were all awarded Honorable Mention status.


The All-Big 8 Girls Soccer team was revealed in recent weeks. Springfield Catholic swept Player of the Year and Coach of the Year Awards through Hayley Singleton and Mike Hines, respectively.

After Catholic, who had six players named to the first team, Logan-Rogersville had three. The Lady Wildcats were repped by senior defender Laiken Leonarduzzi, junior defender Kaitlyn Standefer and sophomore forward Nikki Wood.

Marshfield's Calli Watson joined the Lady Irish pair of goalkeeper Haley Brown and midfielder Olivia Swisshelm as freshman first-team selections.

Another Rogersville pair got into the all-second team in junior Lori Ann McLellan and sophomore Kita Wood. Junior Hayleigh Cantrell was included from Marshfield, also.

Sophia Bleau, a senior midfielder for the Lady Cats, was recognized as an Honorable Mention.

From the Lady Jays, Watson, Cantrell and senior midfielder Baylee Hayes were All-Class 3 District 11 first-team selections. Senior Reagan Smith and sophomore Riley Manary joined them as Honorable Mentions. Willard's Jada Holloman was named Player of the Year from the district, while Watson picked up Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Five from Rogersville –– McClellan, Leonarduzzi, Standefer and both Woods –– were recognized as first-team All-Class 2 District 6. Freshman Grace Larson (Osage) and junior London Wilson (Bolivar) were named Co-Player of the Year.


In spring softball, junior Emma Mullings represented Strafford on the first team All-Mid-Lakes roster. She also gained distinction as a Utility Player. On the second team, the Lady Indians picked included catcher Evelyn Comstock, infielders Lauren Jones and Mya Highvill, outfielder Emma Ivey and Utility Player Natalie Gannon.

Skyline headlined with six first-team picks and Coach of the Year selection Shawna Bybee.

On the All-Class 2 District 7 team, Mullings and Comstock were picked first team from Strafford. Jones, Highfill and Emma Ivey were named to the second team as well from Strafford. They were joined by a Conway duo of infielders, Gibby Beckler and Reagan Dame.

From the All-Class 1 District 4 team, Fordland had four first-team selections with pitcher Tessa Feeback, catcher Mahalia Burks, infielder Lexis Friesen and outfielder Emma Trotter.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here